One of the many things people rant and rave about when they return from Italy, is the food.  If my trip had only lasted one week, I’m not sure I could say the same.  I may have a flu or something because every time I eat, I get terrible stomach pains, nausea, hot and lightheaded afterward.   Today was not as bad, however, because I was able to make one of my favorite foods – Guacamole.

I asked my host family a few nights ago at dinner how they felt about Mexican food and in particular, guacamole.  They informed me they do not like it!  I was devastated, obviously because that means I can pretty much forget about finding tacos, fajitas, tortas, guacamole, etc. on the dinner table for the next three months.  (And I have yet to see a Mexican restaurant anywhere in Rome yet)

After sleeping in late today and skipping an optional outing with my class to the beach, I decided to venture off to the supemarcato,conveniently located two blocks from my house.  I spent about a half hour in the store, and only bought 8 items. I needed time to check out all the products I had never seen before, however, in this trip to the store, I  only bought products I was already familiar with:

1.  Tomato  = Pomodoro

2. Salad (Mixed lettuce) = Insalata

3.  Red Pepper = Peperoni  Rossi

4.  Avocado = Fichi D’India

5.  Baloney (only now did I realize I bought this- I dont like baloney!) = Mortadella

6.  Pita bread-   I don’t know what its called in Italian

7.  A bottle of white wine = Vino bianco

8.  Tissues = Fazzoletti

I had some difficulties when I was in the produce section because in Italy, you need to weigh out your own produce before going to the checkout.  I already knew that I had to do this, but I needed the help of an Italian woman with using the machine!  Now that I know how to use it, I’m hoping it will be much easier next time.  When checking out, I noticed a few things:

1.  You have to pay for a plastic bag 0.05 euro

2.   You have to bag your own groceries

3.  It’s good to have exact change.  My total was 10.38 euro, but I only had a 20 euro bill. Since there are no 1 euro bills, this means I mostly got coins back.

4.  In Italy when you are buying something, you need to set the money on the counter instead of handing the money directly to the cashier.  In return, he or she will put you change back on the counter but will never put it directly in your hand.

And here are some more pictures of my home:

Pongo, the dog

Kitchen (a little messy!)

.....Kitchen = Cucina

Do I really need to explain? Il Bagno

Living room = Soggiorno

First Floor = Primo Piano, the doors lead to my bedroom

Stairs = Scale

