Tags

Anyone who knows me well is aware of my disdain for Valentines Day.  In the weeks before I find myself crying over touching Hallmark commercials, and wondering if someone is going to send flowers (preferably tulips) to my office this year.  But then I remember my Valentines past and the disappointment and humiliation that I have always felt.  Last year I spent as much of the day in bed as possible with my phone turned off, waiting for the 15th when all the madness would be over so we could all forget about love and sweethearts and flowers until next year.

Today I was surprised to read this article about alternate ways to celebrate Valentines day, and no you don’t have to be a pessimist like me or even single to participate: 16 Charitable Ways to Celebrate Valentine’s Day.

The world is filled with sad people who feel forgotten and unloved on every day of the year, not just February 14th.  This Valentines day, feel free to be nice to someone who isn’t your love interest.  I personally am going to spend less time focusing on who loves me enough to send flowers, chocolates, or cards and more what I can do to show love not just to family & friends but also to the strangers I come in contact with.

