Tags

, , ,

This morning one of my professors forwarded this PR Daily article warning students to not become seduced by the ailment known as Senioritis.  Senioritis – otherwise known as slacking off during your senior year of high school or college – is not something I would typically identify with, so I was surprised to find that some of the “symptoms” mirror my current feelings towards college.  I have reached the point where I am not exactly jumping up and down with excitement about the idea of going to class or purchasing what feels like the millionth overpriced textbook.  In my final weeks at DePaul, I have been spending nearly every waking moment anxiously wondering where I am going to find employment come June 10th, so the idea of arguing with bossy overzealous group members or filling out tedious lab reports sounds downright exhausting.

There’s something about the American educational system that makes you feel like you haven’t succeeded quite as much as you should have.  As a History of Art and Architecture major, I have learned that the general knowledge of art that I have painfully consumed over the past four years is worth practically nothing without a Masters or Ph.D.  I have spent many hours wondering how I am going to market my so-called “soft-skills,” which I have acquired after too many hours of paper writing and exam taking over the past 3 2/3 years.  The system has the unique ability to make me question my preparedness for the “real world”, cringe when I hear the words “group project,” and second guess my decision to trade sleep for some of those book chapters I was assigned.

The PR Daily article fails to congratulate students for making it this far.  After all, one way or another, all of us students have managed to get through (and pay for) the past three years of college.  Rather, the article uses the typical scare tactics: warning students about slacking off, having an aloof attitude, or god forbid enjoying the last couple weeks of college too much.  The article plays off of the (somewhat) irrational fear of American society: that it’s never too late to mess everything up.

At my old age of (almost) twenty-two, I feel that it’s getting a little ridiculous to live in fear.  Of course that doesn’t mean I am going to start getting C’s and D’s or ditching class (while thinking I can later ask that professor for a recommendation).  However, I definitely will be focusing my attention on things that really matter, like finding a really great job (that hopefully meets all of my idealistic requirements.)

